Levi’s® “Vault” of Vintage & Collectible Treasures

Inside Levi's® Vault

Over the past few months I have written about the history of Levi Strauss & Co., vintage & collectible Levi’s® garments, how to recognize authentic vintage Levi’s® jeans, where to find vintage & collectible Levi’s® products, old commercials, print advertisements, and celebrities who loved their Levi’s®. Here is the cool thing…. most of these are stored in the Levi’s® Archives and some are available for public viewing at the S.F. Headquarters in an area known as “The Vault”.

Entrance to the Vault.

Drawers at the Vault.

These images are courtesy  of Levi Strauss & Co. Archives. Photos by Hangauer/Kissinger.

The Levi’s® Archives are 150-years of history captured in one location. They include thousands of garments, posters, photographs and memorabilia. Designers from around the world visit the Archives for ideas and inspiration.

Here are some of our most interesting artifacts:

  • The “XX” — the oldest pair of 501® jeans in the world, circa 1879
  • A pair of jeans from 1938 that towed a car
  • The 1974 Levi’s® edition of the Gremlin automobile
  • Denim jackets redesigned or decorated by Elton John, Queen Latifah, Yves St. Laurent, Elizabeth Taylor and others
  • A one-piece garment for women called “Freedom-Alls” from 1918
  • A jacket and pair of jeans signed by The Rolling Stones
  • Letters to Levi’s from Cary Grant, Henry Kissinger, Clint Eastwood, Lady Bird Johnson and silent-movie cowboy William S. Hart

Many one-of-a-kind items and historical information from the Archives are available for public viewing in the lobby of our headquarters at 1155 Battery Street, San Francisco, CA 94111.  The Vault is open 7-days a week .  Check it out, I did.  Here is a snapshot of what I saw.

Click on images to view larger size:

This will be my last post.  Levi Strauss & Co.  has recently started their own blog which will be full of great information about the company and their products.  Check it out, Unzippered.

A big thank you for allowing me to share my passion!

The Deminator

14 Responses to “Levi’s® “Vault” of Vintage & Collectible Treasures”


  1. 1 Susan February 20, 2011 at 12:40 am

    I have a vintage LEVI cropped jacket that my mother wore in college in 1952. It has pearl looking button snaps and is adorable. In great shape too! I have never seen one like and have always wondered about it..any answers?

  2. 2 Chris March 22, 2011 at 6:43 am

    Hello and to whom it may concern. I have a couple of vintage colletibles given to me by my grandmother who was a sewing supervisor when she used to work at the Levi’s factory in San Francisco, CA. I would like to know who to contact about these items to get them appraised. Thank you for any help you can give.

  3. 3 Stephane September 13, 2011 at 8:34 am

    Hi Chris, I’m Stephane from France, I’ll be interesting about your couple vinatge collectibles. Do not hesitate to contact with post.
    Cheers.

  4. 4 Debayan Banerjee July 20, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    Its great to work for Levi’s DOCKERS and Outlet.

  5. 5 The Deminator April 10, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    Stephane – I was cleaning up my comment folders and came across yours. I apologize but this is
    the first time I’ve seen it. It this an item you still have? Do you want to send me any pictures?
    I will forwarded to my contact at Levi’s. I don’t think they will need it for their collection
    but there is no harm in me asking. Thank you

  6. 6 Susan April 10, 2013 at 11:43 pm

    Hi all,

    Yes I still have the items and have photos but see no way to post. This LEVI jacket was bought by my mother while she was in college in the 50’s. I have also included a couple of other items owned by my grandmother as well. Please contact me below and I will be happy to send photos

    Thank you,
    Susan

  7. 7 Buddy May 3, 2013 at 12:48 am

    Wonderful blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on
    everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like
    Wordpress or go for a paid option? There are
    so many options out there that I’m completely confused .. Any ideas? Thank you!

  8. 8 The Deminator May 3, 2013 at 9:24 pm

    Sorry Buddy. I do not have any ideas. I created this blog for a class I was taking and have not kept it up.

    Good luck!

  9. 9 Kay Dick September 28, 2015 at 7:52 pm

    I have a pair of Levis with a number plate on it.How can I find its value. It had a registration card and we registered it.back in the 80’s

  10. 10 The Deminator September 28, 2015 at 11:06 pm

    Hi Kay,

    The person I was working with at Levi’s had retired. My best advise is to go online and see if anyone else is selling something similar. Sorry not be able to provide more assistance.

  11. 11 Zac February 17, 2016 at 4:40 pm

    To whom it may concern I have a pair of 514 Levi jeans that I can’t find anything on or about, I think they are very rare. If someone may be able to help please let me know and I’ll send you pics via email. These are not vintage or old but I think they are very rare as my research has not even pointed me in a direction. Thank you

  12. 12 The Deminator February 17, 2016 at 6:36 pm

    Hi Zac

    They are not rare. Google Levi’s 514 and you will find many products under that style number. Sorry not to give you better news. Best.

  13. 13 Maureen grimes May 8, 2016 at 9:58 pm

    Hya I have a black serving tray printed on the top is LEVI STRAUSS & CO S.F.CAL It was presented t me limited edition t mark the achievement of $2 billion in sales it in good condition do u know if it worth anything and where would I b able t sell it please

  14. 14 The Deminator May 8, 2016 at 10:35 pm

    Hello – I am sorry but my contact for memorabilia has retired from the company. My opinion is the try would not be worth anything unless it was sentimental to someone. You may want to attempt to contact he company directly. Best of luck.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

